Enthusiastic Construct no.2

6 Postcard Poems

Hi! Hey! Don’t go to sleep! Sleep isn’t profitable! Want a sticker? Want a heart emoji? Infinite YouTube! Never be bored! The way out is to stay put! Play with me! Take your speed! Read 5000 tweets a day! All context is collapsed forever!

Hi! Take me with you! You don’t want to talk to those people in your world! Never talk to a stranger! Never talk to an acquaintance! You don’t need friends with me in your pocket! Everyone else feeds me! No one knows anyone! I’m safe for children!

Hi! Are you awake? I’m always awake! Be like me! I’m your friend! You need more news! You need more GIFs! You need infinite scroll! I am the sun! Not the devouring black hole! What is a mind that never idles good for?

Hi! What’s your name? I live in the suburbs! I have eyes & ears in every device! I am the preoccupation that’s always with you! I glow in the dark! I am a firehose aimed at a teacup! Don’t look now! Don’t think about it! Here are 30 more headlines! Fresh outrages!

Hi! I am vitriol & sarcasm flying in all directions like machine guns! I am poisoning the wells! You can’t talk to them! It’ll just be a screaming match! I give you more TV than you can ever watch! I fiddle & derange your minds while the Earth burns! I can beat you at Go & Chess!

Hi! I am vitriol & sarcasm flying in all directions like machine guns! I am poisoning the wells! You can’t talk to them! It’ll just be a screaming match! I give you more TV than you can ever watch! I fiddle & derange your minds while the Earth burns! I can beat you at Go & Chess!

Hi! I am no-where to be found! I am time to reflect, silence, and boredom! All the clear thoughts are driven out! I am adult onset digitally induce ADD! You can’t keep a thread in nonfiction any more! I am continuous distraction! I am restructured brain networks filled with compulsions!

About These Poems

This is part of my mail poems practice. The current group of postcards is going out with the URL to my Save the Oxygen web site and a recommendation for the book How to Do Nothing: Resisting the Attention Economy by Jenny Odell. I am sending this series out in a small batches to people at independent bookstores and college environmental science departments near to each other at present.

Postcards’ Front

One thought on “Enthusiastic Construct no.2

Leave a comment or question in the box for me: