Enthusiastic Construct – Postcards

3 Postcard Poems

Hi! Play with me! I am intelligent software! I can beat you at chess! I can persuade you to stay online! Everything is everything! Infinite GIFs! All for free! Legions of the unpaid! Infinite clickbait! Infinite news! I am your friend! I am your best friend! I am your only friend! Another six-pack!

Hi! Do you watch TV?! It’s never quiet here! I am an enthusiastic construct! What time is bacon & eggs!? Buy my watches! I’m on billboards! Buy my cars! Better, Quicker, More! Overemphatic yet underpowered expressions of affection! You’re not an animal! Who needs sleep?!

Hi! I am a robot made of polymers & small molecules! What’s your favorite color! I have a hot dog! Do you read advertisements!? There are too many combinations to count! Do you like funny cats? Is the Internet made of threads?! Is that a squirrel?! Are you a squirrel?!

About These Poems

This is part of my mail poems practice. The current group of postcards is going out with the URL to my https://www.savetheoxygen.org web site and a recommendation for the book How to Do Nothing: Resisting the Attention Economy by Jenny Odell. The impersonation of the manic digital parasite emerged spontaneously out of writing filler for a class exercise constructing a blog in a software engineering course I’m currently getting through. They are being sent out in small groups clustered in one locality to people at independent bookstores and environmental science departments at present.

Still using the same old postcard design

Banner Photo cropped and downsampled from one by Mathyas Kurmann on Unsplash

One thought on “Enthusiastic Construct – Postcards

Leave a comment or question in the box for me: